AGENDA INTERCITY TRANSIT AUTHORITY WORK SESSION December 17, 2014 5:30 P.M.

CALL TO ORDER

1)	APPROVAL OF AGENDA	1 min.
2)	INTRODUCTIONS/RECOGNITIONS A. Proclamation: Commissioner Karen Valenzuela (Chair Karen Messmer)	15 min.
3)	PUBLIC COMMENT 10 min.Public Comment Note:This is the place on the agenda where the public is invited to address the Authority on any issue. The person speaking is asked to sign-in on the General Public Comment Form for submittal to the Clerk of the Board. Please include your first and last name, a mailing 	
4)	CITIZEN ADVISORY COMMITTEE REPORT (Sue Pierce)	3 min.
5)	THURSTON COUNTY BUS BUDDY PROGRAM (Emily Bergkamp)	15 min.
6)	CITIZEN ADVISORY COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS (Ann Freeman-Manzanares)	5 min.
7)	GENERAL MANAGER'S REPORT	10 min.
8)	AUTHORITY ISSUES	10 min.

9) ADJOURNMENT

Notice: The Authority will conduct a discussion following the work session, pursuant to RCW 42.30.140 (4) (b) to discuss and adopt strategies and positions to be taken by the agency during the course of the Collective Bargaining Agreement with the Amalgamated Transit Union Local 1765.

Intercity Transit is committed to ensuring that no person is excluded from participation in, or denied the benefits of its transit services on the basis of race, color, or national origin consistent with requirements of Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and Federal Transit Administration guidance in FTA Circular 4702.

For questions regarding Intercity Transit's Title VI Program, you may contact the agency's Title VI Officer at (360) 705-5885 or <u>bholman@intercitytransit.com</u>.

If you need special accommodations to participate in this meeting, please call us at (360) 705-5860 three days prior to the meeting.

For TDD users, please use the state's toll-free relay service, 711 and ask the operator to dial (360) 705-5860.

Please consider using an alternate mode to attend this meeting: bike, walk, bus, carpool, or vanpool. This facility is served by Routes 62A, 62B (on Martin Way), and 66 (on Pacific Avenue).

INTERCITY TRANSIT AUTHORITY WORK SESSION AGENDA ITEM NO. 5 MEETING DATE: December 17, 2014

FOR: Intercity Transit Authority

FROM: Emily Bergkamp, Dial-A-Lift Manager, 705-5893

SUBJECT: Thurston County Bus Buddy Program

1) The Issue: Provide the Authority an update on the Bus Buddy Program.

- 2) **Recommended Action:** Information only.
- **3) Policy Analysis:** The DAL Manager will provide updates to the Authority at least twice per year, and more often as requested.
- **4) Background:** In 2013, Catholic Community Services secured funding through WSDOT's Consolidated Grant Program to begin a Bus Buddy Program in Thurston County. Similar programs exist in Pierce and Snohomish Counties.

The Bus Buddy Program utilizes the services of volunteer expert bus riders to assist elders, people with disabilities and those on a limited income with their travels on fixed route. Intercity Transit is an in-kind partner, providing program marketing and outreach support, monthly bus passes for volunteers, and office space and computer use for Bus Buddy Program Coordinator, Janina Robbins. Janina works closely with Intercity Transit's Travel Training program for client referrals and volunteer training.

The Bus Buddy program celebrated its one-year anniversary, and is poised for growth. Catholic Community Services applied for continued project funding for the 2015-2017 WSDOT Consolidated Grant cycle. Janina Robbins, Program Coordinator, will give the Authority an update on the momentum of this great partnership.

- 5) Alternatives: N/A.
- 6) Budget Notes: N/A.
- 7) Goal Reference: Goal #1: "Assess the transportation needs of our community." Goal #2: "Provide outstanding customer service." Goal #4: "Provide responsive transportation options."

8) References: N/A.

INTERCITY TRANSIT AUTHORITY WORK SESSION AGENDA ITEM NO. 6 MEETING DATE: December 17, 2014

FOR:	Intercity Transit Authority
FROM:	Ann Freeman-Manzanares (705-5838)
SUBJECT:	Citizen Advisory Committee Appointments

1) The Issue: Consider recommendations of the ad hoc committee for Citizen Advisory Committee appointments.

2) Recommended Action:

- A. Appoint *Grace Arnis* to the youth position beginning January 1, 2015.
- B. Appoint the following individuals to full terms beginning January 1, 2015: Jan Burt; Billie Clark; Denise Clark; Ursula Euler; and Lin Zenki.
- **3) Policy Analysis:** As per the Operating Principles, the Intercity Transit Authority appoints members to the Citizen Advisory Committee.
- **4) Background:** At the direction of the Intercity Transit Authority, an ad hoc committee formed to conduct interviews of applicants for the Citizen Advisory Committee. Interviews took place on December 3, 2014. Karen Messmer chaired the ad hoc committee, which consisted of *Don Melnick, Debbie Sullivan, Valerie Elliott, Julie Hustoft, and Sue Pierce.* Upon conclusion of the interviews, the group discussed applicant qualifications and is bringing their recommendation to the Authority for consideration.

There were many good candidates with this recruitment. It was agreed should a member need to leave the committee for any reason, one of those not selected at this time could be appointed should they still be available to serve.

5) Alternatives:

- *A.* Appoint *Grace Arnis* to the youth position beginning January 1, 2015. Appoint the following individuals to full terms beginning January 2015: *Jan Burt, Billie Clark, Denise Clark, Ursula Euler and Lin Zenki.*
- B. Recommend other applicants from the pool of candidates be appointed.
- C. Defer appointments. This would leave the CAC with 14 members rather than 20.
- D. Recommend staff conduct another recruitment.
- 6) **Budget Notes:** No further costs unless a second recruitment is desired.

- 7) Goal References: Appointment of new members to the CAC meets Goal #1: "Assess the transportation needs of our community."
- 8) **References:** List of terms with recommended appointments.

TERMS CITIZEN ADVISORY COMMITTEE INTERCITY TRANSIT December 9, 2014

2012-2015

Mitch Chong* Joan O'Connell Valerie Elliott Dale Vincent*

2011-2014

Meta Hogan Roberta Gray Carl See Sreenath Reddy Gangula Charles Richardson

2014-2017

Carl See Charles Richardson Quinn Johnson*

<u>Youth Term 2015-2016</u> Grace Arnis

<u>Reserve List:</u> Sergey Ryballein Nancy Schorn

2010-2016

Don Melnick – appointed to ITA Kahlil Sibree Victor VanderDoes* Faith Hagenhofer Michael Van Gelder* Sue Pierce* Leah Bradley* Julie Hustoft Jill Geyen Resigned

<u>Youth Term</u> 2013-2014 Alyssha Neely Quinn Johnson

<u>2015-2018</u> Lin Zenki

Ursula Euler Jan Burt Billie Clark Denise Clark

*Indicates Eligible to Renew for an Additional Term